Washington County DUI Program
You have been charged with violating the laws of the Commonwealth Washington County DUI Program
of Pennsylvania prohibiting persons from driving, operating, or being
in actual physical control of any vehicle while under the influence of
alcohol or any controlled substance.
As a result, Title 75 of Pa. Vehicle Code, Section 3816 (a) states "…every
person convicted of a violation of section 3802… and every person offered
Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition… shall, prior to sentencing or
receiving ARD…,be evaluated using CRN instruments…" and Title 75, Section
3804 (a)(1)(iii)(2)(iii) and (b)(1)(iii)(2)(iii) and (c)(1)(iii)(2)(iii) states, "…an
individual who violates Section 3802(a) …shall be sentenced as follows…
attend an alcohol highway safety school approved by the department."
In addition, the Pennsylvania has created an alternative to
trial or guilty plea for those who have been charged with DUI. The
alternative, Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition Program, is commonly
referred to as "ARD".
You Were Arrested For A DUI
The Alcohol Highway Safety School provides mandated Court Reporting Network evaluations and state approved Highway Safety Courses.
It is your responsibility to complete the following requirements:
- Following your preliminary hearing you will be scheduled for your CRN Evaluation and Booking.
- There is a $100.00 fee for the CRN Evaluation. It is mandatory that you pay this fee either prior to your CRN Evaluation at the Washington County Clerk of Courts, or at the time of your CRN Evaluation. You must provide a receipt of payment at the time of your CRN if you have paid previously.
- If the CRN recommendation is treatment, a drug and alcohol assessment must be completed. The Washington County DUI program utilizes two providers for this service. You will be scheduled for this part of the process at the completion of your CRN, and scheduled with either the CARE Center, or the Washington Drug and Alcohol Commission. The fee for the drug and alcohol evaluation is $133.00.
CRN (Court Reporting Network Evaluation)
A one-hour evaluation will be scheduled for you at the conclusion of your preliminary hearing and will be completed at the Washington County Booking Center located within the Family Court Center. You may only re-schedule this evaluation in case of an emergency. A $25.00 re-schedule fee will be assessed to you if this occurs. If you fail to attend your CRN appointment your bond may be revoked and you may be incarcerated. You must report for your CRN sober and drug-free, if you are under the influence the CRN may not be completed, and you will not be permitted to operate a motor vehicle leaving the Courthouse. A sober driver will need to provide a ride home for you. You must contact the Booking Center if you are re-scheduling either your CRN or AHSS, failure to do so may cause legal issues with your case.
Booking Center Contact Information
|Monday, Wednesday, Friday
||8:00 A.M. through 4:30 P.M.
|Tuesday and Thursday
||8:00 A.M through 8:00 P.M.
||9:00 A.M. through 4:00 P.M.
Alcohol Highway Safety School
The AHSS will be scheduled for you immediately following your CRN. The cost of the AHSS is $300.00. The AHSS will be held in the Washington County Courthouse Jury Lounge. All participants are to enter through the Cherry Ave. entrance. Each participant must complete 12.5 hours of instruction and must attend sober and drug-free. If you are believed to be under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance you will be removed from class. A sober driver will need to verify with the AHSS instructor that they are providing a ride home for you. This may be a violation of your conditions of supervision and the law.
||4:45 P.M. through 8:00 P.M.
||8:30 A.M. through 4:00 P.M.
- Tuesday sessions require 4 subsequent sessions in order to complete.
- Saturday sessions are two sessions followed in order.
- If the need arises for you to complete sessions out of order this must be approved through the DUI Coordinator.
All DUI Program Costs
CRN Evaluations and the AHSS are the responsibility of the defendant and are due paid at the time of service.
|Early Payment Discount
|| $375.00 (if paid at the time of the CRN)
A fee of $50.00 will be assessed to the defendant for any check that has insufficient funds.
DUI Repeat Offender Program (D.R.O.P.)
If you have been arrested for a subsequent DUI offense within a ten year period, you will automatically be placed into the D.R.O.P. immediately following your preliminary hearing. As a condition of your bail you will be required to have a Continuous Alcohol Monitoring (CAM) device attached to your person for the purpose of insuring your abstinence of alcohol prior to adjudication. You will need to report to the Washington County Adult Probation Office House Arrest Unit for installation. You will be required to provide immediate payment of $232.00 for your first two weeks of monitoring. You will be required to pay every two weeks in advance for the cost of the CAM at a cost of $182.00. You also will be required to complete the statutory components of the DUI program, i.e. CRN, AHSS, and a comprehensive drug and alcohol evaluation.